Malaysian Food Pyramid


Malaysian Food Pyramid is a simple guide for individuals to vary their foods intake according to the total daily food serving recommended.

A balanced diet contains the combination of foods that will provide all the nutrients needed by our body. There is no single food that will provide us with the all nutrients needed. The body needs many types of food in varying amounts to maintain health.

A food pyramid consists of four (4) levels that represent five (5) food group. Indicated beside each food group is the recommended number of servings per day from each group.
From the bottom to the top of the food pyramid, the size of each food group becomes smaller indicating that an individual should eat more of the foods at the base of the pyramid and less of the foods at the top of the pyramid.

Level 4 (peak)
Fat, oil, sugar and salt
Eat less

Level 3
Fish, poultry, meat and legumes
Eat in moderation

½ - 2 serving of poultry, meat and egg / day
1 serving of fish / day
½ - 1 serving of legumes / day

1 – 3 servings of milk and dairy product.

Level 2
Fruits and vegetables
Eat plenty

3 servings of vegetables / day
2 servings of fruits / day

Level 1 (base)
Rice, noodle, bread, cereal, cereal products and tubers
Eat adequately

4 – 8 servings / day