Thai degree is not "laku" in malaysia?

Helo there, thank you so much for clicking on my question. Give yourself a pat on the back. Okay I would like to ask is it true that if you are getting a Thai degree, it’s not worth much in Malaysia compared to if you take other foreign degrees like Australian degree etc? I am a Kedahan student and will be starting my semester in a Thai Uni for Business Communication in August. Thank you.

To answer your question, we need to put things into perspective:

1. Malaysians generally look up to universities in US, UK or Australia. So it is not a surprise that people (including employers) will think highly of you if you graduate from one of those popular countries for overseas studies.

2. However, having said that, not all universities in those countries are good universities. Like in every countries, there are top, good, average, bad universities.

A more objective metric that many scholarship providers usually use for definition of good universities are QS World University Rankings.

For example, University of Wollongong (Australia) ranked 243 while University of Malaya (Malaysia) ranked 146 according to 2015 QS World University Rankings.

So based on the rankings, employers might think a graduate from UM is better than a graduate from University of Wollongong (Australia)?

1. The answer unfortunately is no, as employers generally perceive Australian universities are better than Malaysian universities. Some employers might also think that overseas graduates are better than local graduates because they have valuable overseas study and living experience. They assume these students will have broader horizon and more international experience.

So at the end of the day, it is really different people have different perspectives - and perspectives can change over time.